×

Warning

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 42

We try to keep things very simple at Semko.  From our website, to coming out and giving a free estimate, to the installation.  We know not everyone wants to spend days, weeks or months on trying to get window estimates.  We are a small, family run business with a no pressure philosophy.  Unlike traditional pushy salespeople that try to get you to sign a contract immediately, we believe in a low-key approach that will give you time to think it over and let you decide when you are ready.

We spend very little on advertising as well.  You will not see our ads on TV or the radio which keep our costs way down which allows us to pass the savings directly to you. Look us up on the web under replacement windows Chicago and you definitely will find numerous satisfied customers that took the time our of their day to write us a review.  We proudly serve the community and all of their window replacement needs. 

We truly appreciate that too because it lets us keep going on this same ideal that you should not be pressured.  We thank all of our customers and hope some of these reviews will help if you are looking into an estimate as well.  Take a look at what some of our satisfied customers wrote;

replacement windows morton grove 042517 

Testimonial

4/25/2017
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
joseph J.
Morton Grove, IL Updated review

Purchased windows and patio door in 2014 and gave them a five star review for product and installation..After 4 yrs, we noticed a small crack in one of the windows, one call and we were told that the window would be replaced at no charge...one week later, they arrived and replaced the window in about 10 minutes...Great service again...it is no wonder why they have stayed in business so long...Great customer service and stand by their product..

Original Review 8/26/2014
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
joseph J.
Morton Grove, IL

Spoke with Jason on the phone and explained to him what we needed....Jason arrived at our home a couple hours after our phone call.....measured our windows and patio door....gave an estimate..and completed the order....Very friendly in explaining how long they had been in business and what the complete cost would be.....Weeks later we got a call to set up a installation time and the crew arrived as scheduled...completed the install.cleaned up all the debris, and explained the operation of the new door and windows....Very pleased with the quality of the work as well as the product....

3/6/2017
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Jack M. Lakeview, Chicago, IL

Great price on my three windows. On point bid, efficient installation with very kind folks installing. Solid product and experience overall. Patio door is next.

11/20/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Crone D. Chicago, IL

I found a company that does not insult your intelligence with distortions, lies, exaggerations, overpricing or high pressure tactics.  A company that assesses what you want, what you need, what your budget is, and tries to fill those requirements.  A company that respects you.  After dealing with about a half dozen other companies, it was refreshing to find SEMKO.

Hal, the owner of SEMKO, was direct, the product was what I was looking for, pricing was reasonable, and service was exemplary. His sales pitch took less than an hour.  A manufacturer's lifetime warranty including glass breakage and labor was included.  What more could one want?   I asked Hal if I could meet with the actual installer prior to signing a contract.   I was able to talk with Adam at my home which gave me the confidence that they could resolve any quirks that my old building has, like rotted wood, vines, interior paneling covering window framing, and other surprises.  

Adam and his two workmen expertly and efficiently installed 15 windows in one day, and while they were at  it, generously fixed a couple of small siding problems that have been plaguing me.  I am very satisfied with my new windows and my new BWF (best window friend) Hal.

If you are looking for replacement windows, save yourself a lot of time, stress and money by calling SEMKO first.  

If you are just starting, reading my report below might help you avoid some traps.  If you are being subjected to this kind of abuse, show the salesman the front door immediately.

THE ORDEAL OF FINDING REPLACEMENT WINDOWS
Having declared that he would submit only one price and it would be final, the salesperson for this highly advertised company proceeded to reduce his ridiculously high 'final and only' price of almost $1200 per window to almost half that, but in such excruciatingly difficult and sleight-of-hand step-downs that I was too exhausted and actually sick and disoriented after three hours of relentless hard sell to resist.  It was 11 pm when he finally left with my check.  Thanks to the Buyer's Remorse law, I put a stop payment on my check first thing the next morning and cancelled the contract.   I can understand now why people who are interrogated for hours sign confessions.  But it made me think - Would I face the same kind of ordeal when I needed a repair or replacement?

This company isn't the only one that will have you crying "UNCLE!."  A national company's salespeople (yes - two of them!)  with their bait-and-switch and up-sell tricks made me not consider them for a minute of their almost three hour pitch.  And yet another company took two hours to bring their price down to earth.  And neither of these last two would leave a written estimate for my consideration.  When I asked for an emailed quote, the national company even said they 'don't do email.' But he condescended to scribble some figures on the back of a brochure.  I was left to make a decision based on my recollection of more than two hours of facts interwoven with fiction.

Disappearing act:  
0% financing magically turns into 6%  (that's two points higher than a mortgage).
Free coupons for requesting an estimate never materialize

Bait-and-switch:  20 minutes telling you about their inferior 'contractor' window they WON'T sell you to show how they are only looking out for your best interests, and to switch you to a more expensive product.

Magic act:
Let's pull out that big heat lamp!
Waving a binder of testimonials thicker than the old Yellow Pages that was kept just out of my reach
A slick booklet ostensibly from Consumer Reports detailing how this local manufacturer's windows  are superior to six national brands including Pella. There was no Copyright Page identifying Consumer Reports as the publisher.

Final offer:  Ignore it.   Keep haggling until he is actually out the door. He will call tomorrow. Then haggle some more.

Only good for today:    Get real!  They would turn down a sale if it's 24 hours later after spending hours reconfiguring your brain?  Thankfully, some companies will say "This offer is good for a year."  

Disrespect:
Your questions are ignored.  You can't get a word in.  
The product doesn't fit your criteria but that is brushed aside.  
"We don't sell half screens" "Everyone wants full screens"   When I wasn't buying it, he suddenly remembered that they do have half screens.
You decry the overly long computerized presentation as information you already know but they drone on...and on..andonandon..
Their  computer's battery is dead and is recharged for 20 minutes using your electricity.

Up-selling - claiming the highest priced option is the only choice available.  Lying to the customer is not an ethical sales technique.

Catch-22:    Forget that you are completely exhausted. Read the contract.  Clarify fuzzy areas and write in verbal agreements.  And know Buyers Remorse law before signing.

11/18/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Deborah B. Chicago, IL

So you can see why SEMKO is such a breath of fresh air (pardon the pun!).

Semko is amazing- my husband and I had a very bad experience with another window replacement company so we were very wary.  As an experiment we replaced just 3 windows and the results are FANTASTIC.  We had special concerns and they were accomplished - Semko will now do the entire back porch next year.  5 stars. This company listens and is very helpful.  Go local!!

8/18/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Alan P.  Chicago, IL

I called another company for replacement windows. The salesman was very nice, but he was in my house for almost two hours, and his initial estimate was a bit high. I called Semko. The son of the owner was the salesman (Sorry, can't remember the name). He spent all of fifteen minutes at my house measuring each window, and then he gave me a price. About twenty percent under the other company. The windows were installed two weeks later by a very efficient crew, and the windows themselves are almost exactly the same as the windows another company showed me. Excellent company.

10/11/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Samuel C. Chicago, IL

I had my 11 windows installed 06-Oct-2016, and they did a great job!
The sales person was technical and knowledgeable. They met my expectation on the quote and installation workmanship. I've save 43% on the budget, when did comparative cost analysis to F-co. I highly recommend Samko.

9/26/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Lynn S. Chicago, IL

Fantastic to work with.  Had 15 windows installed all one day.  The bathroom window was measured a little off due to the outside brick.  They initially said they would need to come back another day - which was ok with me.  But around 2:00 Jay shows up with a new window.

9/16/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Steve J. Chicago, IL

OUT-KCUFING-STANDING!  If you go anywhere else for windows your a fool.  From the moment I made the first call to Semko to they walked away when the job was done I've been in awe of their professionalism with a no pressure laid back attitude.  The quality of the workmanship and windows is top notch and only took a month to have the windows custom made and only 6 hours to install.  We had priced other companies and they were almost twice as much AND sent a pushy salesman with smarmy tactics like attempting to play off of two people and refusing one on one quotes.  When I need the other half of my house windowed I know where I'm going: Semko

7/21/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Steve L. Chicago, IL

Semko replaced the windows in my house. They did everything right. Professional service, fair price, excellent installers. If you like working with family businesses, give these guys a shot. You won't be sorry.

4/6/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Christine S. Chicago, IL

After reading all of the wonderful yelp reviews, I decided to use Semko to replace the windows in my condo. I had my windows installed a few weeks ago and I love them! No more old, rattling windows for this gal. Semko was professional, reliable, and they did great work. The windows were ready on time. The installers arrived exactly to the minute of when they were supposed to. They put tarps down and cleaned up when they were done.

I highly recommend Semko for your window purchase.

2/26/2016
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Bertha C. Elmwood Park, IL

OMG!!! This company is AMAZING!!! I just had a bow window installed along with another  slider window at less expensive then another company and they did a great, GREAT job , very professional crew not to mention Jason kept us up to date on everything!! We are very happy with our windows  and will definitely recommend to our friends and family, I will use them again for sure!!!

Thank  you SEMKO!!!
:)

12/11/2015
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Dave R. Chicago, IL

We hired Semko this fall for a total building window replacement project, almost 300 windows. This was a major job, 100 year old building, with big windows! Over the course of 3 weeks the Semko crews organized and completed the job. I can't say enough good things about the experience. 2 months later I'm happy to say we absolutely hired the best company for the job got the best deal and 24 out of 24 owners have commented they are 100% satisfied with the finished product. Big thanks to Jason and Adam.

11/29/2015
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Pinar A. Chicago, IL

We are very happy with our new Windows! Our new place is warmer and definitely energy efficient. Semko, too out our old aluminum frame windows and replaced them with energy efficient pvc ones. I highly recommend Semko if you are looking to get new Windows. They were helpful, friendly and efficient in every step of the way.   Thanks!!!!

10/19/2015
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Donna S. Harwood Heights, IL

Fast, easy and stress free.  A friend of mine recommended Semko so they were one of the several estimates that I got. They were the best reviewed and price so I had to do it.  They were out in a few days to measure and give estimate and then just a few weeks later they were installed. Done.

4/14/2015
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Leslie R. Chicago, IL

Not only did they replace 10 windows in my house, they also created a hole in the wall to add one more. They did a terrific job! The workers are considerate and professional, and the price is very fair. Very good quality windows. No hassle, just straightforward and honest. Jason is a down-to-earth, responsive and friendly representative for this local, family-owned business.

10/29/2014
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Tom R. Chicago, IL

Hal and Jason are as good as it gets!

They stuck with us through months of headaches with our condo association and board demanding we replace our patio doors due to leaking in the unit below.  Their customer service and honesty was off the charts.  They were willing to work with a very stubborn engineering company hired by our management company that would have turned most people away.  The installation by their crew led by Luke was top notch, friendly and knowledgeable.  

Semko stands by their products, installers, and most importantly their word.  Not to mention they had the best PRICE of anyone we talked to.

We're looking into new windows in our bedroom and they will be our first call.

Thanks Hal and Jason!

10/22/2014
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Monika S. Arlington Heights, IL

We had our windows installed today and I just wished my experience with everybody was as great as it has been with Semko.
Absolutely professional, reliable, nice, great work, I can't say enough. We absolutely love the work that was done in our house, windows were ready exactly after the time we were told they would be. Starting with the estimate thorough taking measurements to the actual installation everybody always showed up on time (I had to leave home by 7:30 am, the carpenter was at my door before 7 am so I wasn't late).
We left the installation crew home alone for the whole day I can't tell there was any work done, everything is clean and neat. Before choosing SEMKO I spoke with several other companies, there is nobody who will do it better.
Will absolutely recommend them to friends and family!

8/11/2014
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Charmaine D. Chicago, IL

When I first decided to replace the 11 windows of my rental apartment I called the big name popular company I saw on TV since they were offering the penny installation.  One of their guys came out, measured my windows,  and then it was as if I was buying a car;  he first gave me a high quote,  I refused,  he brought the number down,  I was still unsure, he brought it even lower while telling me how great of a deal I'm getting BUT he could only offer it that day.  He even called his boss in front of me having a conversation with him as if his boss thought it was crazy to offer me such a great deal.   So I signed,  knowing I had three days to cancel.  Later on that day I went on Yelp and found Semko with 5 star reviews so i called.  Jason said he could come out the next day.  He showed up, did some measurements, and since I was on the 3rd floor told me he had to talk to his contractor before giving me an estimate.  No negotiations, no hassles,  no games.  At the end of the day he sends me an estimate about $500 less than the other guy!   When I canceled with the other company they said they could match or beat the estimate I was given.  No thanks, I stuck with Semko.  The contract was signed on July 23 and the windows were installed on Aug. 8.   I asked the contractors if they could remove or cover their shoes and they did.  Nice.   They started the job at 8am and were done by noon.  They cleaned up after themselves and left my tenants with beautiful new energy efficient windows!

3/28/2014
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Christina L. Chicago, IL

My husband and I purchased an older apartment. The original windows were in bad shape and we needed to replace them. I read the positive reviews on Yelp and gave Semko a call. Jason came to our apartment.  He measured our windows, explained the process, gave us a price quote, and followed up the next day.  The cost quote was all inclusive - no hidden/add-on costs for anything. We made the decision to replace our windows and, after my custom windows came in, we arranged a date for installation.

The work crew was professional, polite, efficient, and respectful.  There were no surprises anywhere along the way and we love our new windows!

I wholeheartedly recommend Semko for Window replacement!

11/28/2013
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Scott P. Chicago, IL

I know I give a lot of 5 stars, but this Semko deserves five stars. Jason is honest and trustworthy, work was competed ahead of schedule.  Thanks for getting the windows in time for Thanksgiving.

4/28/2013
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Wilfred O. Chicago, IL

We visited the Semko showroom and met with Jason. Very nice and helpful and explained everything to us. Came to our house to take measurements and talked about how we could save money. His carpenter and crew came on the scheduled day and time to replace our bathroom window; were very courteous and respectful of our home. Could not believe my eyes when they were done. Replaced old glass block with a beautiful window that made our bathroom brighter and complete. They cleaned up the work area and were done in a timely manner. We highly recommend Semko and will definitely have them replace other windows in our house at a later time.

4/7/2013
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Coley B. Chicago, IL

I own a multi-unit rental building in East Humboldt Park and was looking to replace some old single pane windows that were broken and rotting. Plus the windows were odd sizes due to an older building so I had to get custom windows. I've never bought windows before so I contacted 3 companies to get quotes: Jason from Semko came out the next day and walked me through the options and gave me a quick quote and explained the process and the installation time. He also followed up with an email detailing the dimensions of the windows, the quote and everything that was included. I was impressed by how honest he was with everything and how quickly he responded when I had questions. I called Semko and was immediately answered by Jason every time. Semko also provided the best price and fastest installation time which was important for a rental building. The other company was a bit more expensive. The other company seemed to have the fanciest windows BUT they were the most expensive. They claimed to be running a 40% off sale but then the salesman tacked on all these installation charges and other items and it seemed like I was getting nickeled and dimed for everything. The other companies quote was $700 more than the Semko quote and the turnaround time was 3-6 weeks!! Furthermore, Semko offers a lifetime window and labor warranty on all their windows. The other companies offers a lifetime warranty on their window but their labor is only good for 5 years. So if a Window or screen breaks you'll pay a ton for labor. Plus the reviews for Semko were just awesome. So I went with my gut instinct and chose Semko.

Sure enough they lived up to their word. Within a week and a half the custome double hung white vinyl windows were ready to be installed. Two guys from Semko (not outside contractors) pulled up and installed the windows within 4 hours. They also noticed that all of the inside window stops were rotted so I talked with Jason and the guys agreed to replace them all for a small fee. The windows, caulking, stops, etc were all really well done and I'm VERY happy with the job they did. I would recommend Semko to everyone for their honesty, good work, lowest prices, quality windows, lifetime warranty on everything and turnaround time.

8/20/2012
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Amy G. Morton Grove, IL

Fabulous company... I don't think the experience could have been any better.

We're moving into a new home and needed to have some windows replaced. Jason was extremely flexible with timing when he came out to give a quote (we're not living in the home yet, and I have a 1 year old daughter so he was understanding of us perhaps being a little late or early depending on her nap and lunch). He was also friendly, quick, and honest (I was on the fence about having the kitchen window replaced and instead of trying a "hard sell" he honestly told me that it probably didn't need to be replaced). The price was less than we had expected and the windows came in quickly and were installed in just a few hours. There was no mess at all (we only had the windows, not the frames, but it was still incredibly neat) and the windows look great.

I highly recommend that you use this company!

1/4/2012
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Holly V. Evanston, IL

Jason from Semko came out to give us an estimate to replace a broken window.  We really appreciated that he was willing to come out to look at one window and that he recommended that we just replace the glass after inspecting it and finding no damage to the frame.  That kind of honesty is hard to come by!

We didn't end up having Semko replace the window (we got the glass repaired by Accurate Glass Shop), but the next time we need replacement windows for our home, we'll definitely be going with Semko!

5/19/2011
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Alex U. Skokie, IL 1 check-in

I will preface my 5 star rating with the fact that the guys are in mid installation, but so far everything that they have promised has been delivered.  I spoke to Jason, son of the owner, and he has been in contact with me from beginning to almost the end.  They provided us with a no nonsense quote, accurate time frames, and friendly service.  The three window installation professionals know their stuff.  They talked me through the installation process (ie. how they measure them, where the insulation goes, does and dont's).  They showed up when they said they would and have been very respectful of my home.  Up until now, I give them 5 stars.  I will come back post installation and rerate them if necessary and to provide you with my complete experience.  

If you are in the market for windows, whether it's for your own home or your rental.  Save yourself the pain and hassle of some of the other overzealous time consuming presentations that leave you feeling frustrated more than anything!  Call Jason

12/2/2009
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Christina R. Alexandria, VA

Big money decisions are the hardest, especially when they require strange men to show up and measure your window size.  However, Jason, the front end sales guy, and the crew that did the installing were fabulous.

I bought a foreclosure, and along with it came what had to be the worse windows on the planet.  I figured since I was going to have to replace them, why not do it right and get the tax-credit, energy saving windows.  I got estimates from a few places, where one tried to gouge me, one refused to just measure and give me a straight estimate (and wanted to give me a song and dance and wouldn't even do that without my boyfriend present (said boyfriend who doesn't have an ownership interest in the residence)) and another told me he couldn't do dark bronze on the outside in vinyl (condo board requirement).  I was at my wits end.

Then, like a ray of light, Jason showed up.  He measured, gave me the straight story, gave me pricing, and politely (not all pushy like) followed up in a week.  I finally made a decision to replace all 11 of my windows and signed on the Semko dotted line.  Two weeks later, my house was 15 degrees warmer without using my furnace, and the sound from the El tracks was dulled out.

The work crew was polite, efficient, and workmanly.  The experience was about as painless as spending that much money can be (and cheaper than it would have been with some of the other companies).  They hauled off the old windows without additional cost.  The reframing was included in the cost.

I wholeheartedly recommend Semko for Window replacement!

4/1/2009
Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active
Adam H. Palatine, IL

needed new windows.  Jason came to my house.  It was immediately clear that they were window replacement professionals.  He provided some advice on the right windows.  We received other quotes and Semko were cheap without being too cheap.  We decided to go with Jason and they started work the next week.  The installation was quality and the results were great.  No more drafts, easy to clean and beautiful.  Jason gave the direct number of (773) 631 1060 for any questions.  Love the work.

Semko_Logo_600X192.jpg

Chicago Replacement Windows

We specialize in exterior house refurbishment including:

- Chicago Replacement Windows

- Chicago Replacement Doors

- Chicago Replacement Siding

 

Like us on Facebook.

Check out our reviews on Yelp. Leave us a review on Google+